Why Fox News & Rick Perry are Unconstitutional

I was raised in a family that exclusively watched Fox News. It was known as the only “good” network in our household… and I didn’t refute it. Why should I? I was younger and hadn’t yet realized even my family members could be wrong about something. Now, I’m not here to bash Fox News because of my political views… and I can prove that because I am neither liberal nor conservative. I am a centrist libertarian. On top of that, those who know me know that I am a very logical and unbiased person. I evaluate everything to make the best and most rational judgement. My post today is about a specific article that was introduced to me by a friend, an article about Rick Perry that he is in favor of. After reading it I realized that it was one of the worst national news articles I had ever read.

Rick Perry

The reasoning I had was not based off political opinion nor religious ideology/affiliation… it was based on how blatantly unconstitutional the entire article was.

Rick Perry proclaimed, “As president, I’ll end Obama’s war on religion,” suggesting that Obama has an agenda to end religion in America. He also said, “And I’ll fight against liberal attacks on our religious heritage.” The first thing to note is that this nation is NOT a Christian nation, it was founded by our founding fathers to be a secular nation. Jefferson said (and quoted his Constitution),  “I contemplate with sovereign reverence that act of the whole American people which declared that their legislature should ‘make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof,’ thus building a wall of separation between Church & State”. Rick Perry is suggesting that he wants to rid America of secularism, which is unconstitutional, thus, un-American.

Rick Perry went on to say, “I’m not ashamed to admit that I’m a Christian, but you don’t need to be in the pew every Sunday to know there’s something wrong in this country when gays can serve openly in the military but our kids can’t openly celebrate or pray in school”.

This comment is so moronic it is disgusting. It shows he either lacks a fundamental understanding of the Constitution or he is trying to subvert it. The military is government, therefore religious ideologies are to be left out. Public schools are also government. This means that children can pray on their own, but it cannot be sanctioned by the school… why? Because this is a secular government and Obama is doing a wonderful job of keeping it that way.

To continue with the stupidity of relating the military to Christianity, Fox goes on to say, “A Christian cross was removed from outside an Army chapel because it violated regulations. The Air Force Academy was forced to apologize for promoting Operation Christmas Child because it had ties to a Christian organization”. Is this supposed to be a big surprise? It is against the law and has been since the Constitution was written! They should be lucky that those who ordered the implementation of these Christian messages weren’t removed from power. Furthermore, “…many lawmakers, believe the Obama administration is trying scrub Christianity from the military”. It never was supposed to be there in the first place! How many times do I have to say that this is a secular government?

Probably the worst thing I read in the Fox News article was this: “The Obama administration has used our military as a social engineering petri dish – pulling gay and lesbian soldiers out of the closet while pushing Christians back inside”. I don’t think I have to comment on this other than noting how idiotic you must be if you think Christians are being put into a closet… their voice has been and always will be more loud than any other group.

Fox went on to negatively criticize the Obama administration for supporting Lady Gaga’s avocation to removing bullying from schools… while arguing Obama should be advocating Franklin Graham (an evangelist Obama refused to include in his policy making). Now I didn’t vote for Obama, probably a stupid decision in hindsight, but he is doing an outstanding job of keeping this nation the way the founding fathers wanted it to be, secular. He himself is an outspoken Christian. He goes to church regularly. But he also is intelligent enough to understand the difference between church and state. He isn’t attacking religion, he’s refusing to support policy making that favors one religion or another… highly commendable for someone who is a known and practicing Christian.

Here is the article if you are interested in reading, it is unfortunate Fox News has this unconstitutional stance.

http://www.foxnews.com/opinion/2011/12/08/rick-perry-president-obama-and-war-on-christianity/

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

