“Can Fat People Do Tough Mudder”

Yeah, I just broke a taboo, deal with it. But the fact of the matter is that behind the scenes to this website, I can see all the search terms viewers type into search engines that lead them to my site. It’s completely anonymous, no doubt, but I can still see them… some are quite entertaining I might add. Anyway, something along the lines of the title of this post, “Can Fat People Do Tough Mudder”, seems to keep popping up on a regular basis. This means there are a lot of people out there that seem to realize they are fat/overweight but have a desire to take part in the great Tough Mudder challenge. This post will answer that question, but more generally will be of help to anyone who is overweight but feels limited as to things they can do.

“Can Fat People Do Tough Mudder?” The answer is, “yes… but”. When I did it, I saw very few overweight people in the challenge. And by very few, I mean probably 10 or so during the 3-4 hours I was out on the course. I saw fat people sitting on the side of course catching a breather, I saw them skipping obstacles, and I saw them entirely drop out of the race… but I also saw them finish. So, like I said above, fat people “can” do Tough Mudder… but that shouldn’t be the question in the first place.

The real question should be, “can I get in shape to do Tough Mudder?” If you are asking the question, “can fat people do Tough Mudder?” Then that means your mentality of yourself is that you are stuck inside your body and are limited to what it can do. It is because of that mentality that you are overweight and always will be… unless you do something about it. If you want to do Tough Mudder, or anything for that matter, you shouldn’t be asking yourself the question based off your current limitations, you should be asking yourself what you can do to change those limitations. In a matter of months, with strict adherance to living healthy and exercising, I can promise you that you can lose 30+ pounds and feel better than ever… WITHOUT using gimmick pills and silly As Seen On TV machines.

For me, personally, I achieve the greatest when I set goals for me that are currently out of my reach. If I commit to something that I know would be near impossible for me to do, today, then I will work for it until I can achieve the goal by the time the day comes of which I committed.

So get off your ass and set a goal and DO IT! It may seem daunting, but it’s actually rather simple. 80% of it is just in what you eat, and the remaining 20% is working out at least 30 minutes a day. That’s it. Everyone can do that, you just need to be mindful. Here is a link to 5 steps I wrote to make this easy. Let me know if you have any questions, I will always be of help to you. Just click “Contact” at the top of the page to do so.

My Tough Mudder experience:

http://iantimberlake.wordpress.com/2011/07/25/my-epic-tough-mudder-wisconsin-2011-challenge-every-bit-of-this-weekend-roadtrip-was-crazy/

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on ““Can Fat People Do Tough Mudder”

  1. Erin says:

    It is not so much that overweight people are limited in their thinking. At least for me, the race is relatively soon. I don’t have time to drop another 50 pounds but I really want to try the race. I also don’t want to have all eyes drawn to me with those “who’s the fat girl” glares. I want to know that when I show up for the race there are going to be some other less-than-perfect members of the human race ready to test themselves, too. So when we search for terms like “can fat people do tough mudder” we are really asking “can we at least try the race without judgment from all of you buff, chistled gods?”

    • You make a good point. I give more commendation to those who attempt it and know they aren’t of ideal physical fitness. If you can get through it and you consider yourself overweight then I give more respect to you for pushing through what was probably hard for you than someone who was in physical shape. The point I’m making is that you at least realize that this challenge is difficult, and you are making an effort to be triumphant in the event. And that is what matters. It might be your stepping stone to getting in shape. All that matters is you commit yourself to doing it and you at least put 100% into it.

  2. KCCO91 says:

    Thank you for posting this. I’m a woman who so far lost 15lbs and this is my goal. I’ve always been competitive, but this is something that both excited me and scares the living shit out of me; but I want to do it! And I totally agree with you on the 80/20 part. I hate that some of the people around me jump on the “weight loss train” when they see others lose weight and then jump off it a day later. I actually get the question “what are you using” and “are you taking any weight loss pills”. Its unmotivational when you’re working your ass off and there are other people who just think they can take some miraculous pill and be awesome.

    Thanks for the motivation and affirmation that I can do this challenge. Your blog is awesome! :)

    • Nice job on the getting in shape! Tough Mudder is an amazing experience. If you love doing adventurous/challenging things, this is perfect for you. A bit of advice, do as much incline training as you can. Walk/Jog up and down a local hill. Stair climber machine and treadmill at max incline. Do specific calf exercises as well. This will save you on the course ;)

      • KCCO91 says:

        That sounds awesome and thanks for the tips! I don’t think I’ll have a problem with running hillside and terrain….. I’m from Bloomington, IN which is literally made up of endless hills. :)

    • Anonymous says:

      you seem to be hot already…so relax;)

  3. alan says:

    thanxs for the post i’m running tough mudder scotland in two days i decided to compete in november to motivate me to loose weight i was 26st/165kg im now 21st/133kg but still not my ideal weight and was kind of shitting my self about it. it was all the self confidence with being fat and standing on the start line feeling people looking at me but now fuck it im doing it! thanxs again

  4. Tammy says:

    I’m here in Las Vegas and our Tough Mudder is in 10 days. What good tip can you give me if I haven’t been training but want to do the race with my husband and friends as far as exercise is concerned? Will running 2 miles per day make any difference between now and then? or should I just focus on push ups/pull ups? (I’m sure I can’t do the monkey bars.) Any help you could offer would be greatly appreciated. :-)

    ~ Tammy

    • Thanks for the comment! 10 days isn’t enough to “get in shape”, but it is enough to help get rid of the “shock” you’re body will have. Whenever you go from not working out to working out, your body is sort of shocked with the sudden change in activity. In fact, some people can even slightly gain weight the first week or two of working out because of this shock… it’s enough to discourage people from continuing the training. Even if you do gain a pound or two during these 10 days, you’ll still be taking care of that shock and you’ll be able to perform better the day of TM.

      Cardio kicks in your metabolism for about 4 hours after you’re done working out and it’s what you need to do to improve long distance performance. But weights or sprints (any high intensity workout) kicks in your metabolism for up to 12 hours after your workout. So you’re body will keep burning fat and building muscle much longer after your workout.

      With this said, it’s important to do both. You should do at least 30 minutes a day of cardio and follow it immediately with a higher intensity workout like lifting weights or doing sprints for 15+ minutes. And when I say weights, I mean literally pushing your limits with what you can lift. Don’t worry if you’re a female, women don’t have the testosterone that is required to build muscle mass (it seems too often that women are afraid to lift weights because they don’t want to look “muscly”).

      Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

